Eric Nylund

Eric Nylund
Eric Nylund

Eric Nylund, born on November 12, 1964, is a New York Times bestselling American writer. He has written novels to the Halo book series. In fact, he was the one who wrote the first Halo book, namely Halo: The Fall of Reach.


Eric Nylund grew up in California. He managed to obtain a degree in Chemistry, before obtaining a master’s degree in Chemical Physics.

In 1995, Eric Nylund was hired by Microsoft to become a writer. As a result, he wrote scripts for the video-game franchise Crimson Skies and for the Gears of War. In his role as a Microsoft employee, he wrote three Halo books: Halo: The fall of Reach; Halo: First Strike; Halo: Ghosts of Onyx; and Halo: Evolutions. In fact, he was the writer of the very first Halo novel.

During his job at Microsoft, although unrelated to it, he also managed to write another five standalone novels, two novels for the Signal series, two novels for the Mortal Coils series, three novels for The Resisters series, as well as two graphic novels.

In August 2012, Amazon Game Studios was founded. By July 2013, eleven months later, Eric Nylund quit his role of Director of Narrative Design at Microsoft and decided to join Amazon Games Studios.

During this time, Eric Nylund managed to add another two books to his The Resisters series.

Two years later, in July 2015, Eric Nylund decided to leave Amazon, expressing his desire to spend more time with his close relatives, as well as work on more novels.

Since then, he wrote two novels for his Hero of Thera series.


Here are all the works of Eric Nylund to this date.

Standalone books

These books can be read by themselves, as they are not connected to any other books.

  • Pawn’s Dream (1995)
  • Game of Universe (1997)
  • Dry Water (1997)
  • Crimson Skies (2002)
  • The Warlords of Recess (2013)
  • The Enchanted Knot (2015)

It’s rumoured that Eric Nylund is working on a novel titled What Fools These Mortals, but any publisher has yet to buy the rights to publish it.

Signal book series

Eric Nylund wrote the following two books for the Signal series:

  • Signal to Noise (1998)
  • A Signal Shattered (1999)

Halo book series

Eric Nylund contributed to the Halo series by writing five books and one graphic novel:

  • Halo: The Fall of Reach (2001)
  • Halo: First Strike (2003)
  • Halo: Ghosts of Onyx (2006)
  • Halo: Evolutions – Essential Tales of the Halo Universe (2009)
  • Halo Wars: Genesis (2009)
  • Dr. Halsey’s Journal (2010)


Collaborating with other authors, Eric Nylund contributed to two anthologies:

  • Elemental: The Tsunami Relief Anthology: Stories of Science Fiction and Fantasy (2006)
  • Other Worlds (2013)

Mortal Coils book series

Eric Nylund wrote these two books for the Mortal Coils series:

  • Mortal Coils (2009)
  • All That Lives Must Die (2010)

Battlestar Galactica series

Eric Nylund contributed to the phenomenal Battlestar Galactica story by writing the graphic novel Battlestar Galactica: Cylon War, back in 2009.

The Resisters book series

Eric Nylund wrote the following novels to The Resisters book series:

  • The Resisters (2011)
  • Sterling Squadron (2012)
  • Titan Base (2013)
  • Operation Inferno (2013)

Hero of Thera book series

Lastly, Eric Nylund wrote these two books to the Hero of Thera series:

  • Hero of Thera (2007)
  • A Thousand Drunken Monkeys (2019)

Literary awards

In 1998, Eric Nylund‘s book Dry Water was nominated for the World Fantasy Award.

More recently, in 2010, his book All That Lives Must Die earned Eric Nylund a starred review from the popular magazine Publishers Weekly.

Start reading books by Eric Nylund

The best way to start reading books by Eric Nylund is by reading Halo: The Fall of Reach.